## 2007 Beef Improvement Federation 39th Annual Meeting

Coverage by Angus Productions Inc.

www.bifconference.com

## BIF Announces Annual Award Winners

Release provided by Beef Improvement Federation

FORT COLLINS, COLO. (June 7, 2007) — The Beef Improvement Federation (BIF) honored annual award winners this week during its 39th Research Symposium and

during its 39th Research Symposium and Annual Meeting hosted by Colorado State University.

Following are the award recipients:

- ► 2007 BIF Continuing Service Award: Sally Northcutt, genetic research director at the American Angus Association.
- ▶2007 BIF Continuing Service Award: Craig Huffhines, executive vice president and chief executive officer (CEO) of the American Hereford Association.
- ▶2007 BIF Pioneer Award: R.A. "Rob" Brown of R.A. Brown Ranch, an industry leader for more than 20 years.
- ▶2007 BIF Pioneer Award: Jim Gosey, Extension beef specialist and professor for 34 years in the animal science department at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

- ▶2007 BIF Pioneer Award: David and Emma Danciger of Tybar Ranch, lifelong ranchers in Dallas, Texas, and later Carbondale, Colo., dedicated to the advancement of artificial insemination (AI) of cattle.
- ►2007 BIF Ambassador Award: Angela "Angie" Denton, editor of *Hereford World*.
- ▶2007 BIF Commercial Producer of the Year: Broseco Ranch
- ➤ 2007 BIF Seedstock Producer of the Year: Pelton Simmental/Red Angus

Also honored at the conference were Frank Baker Scholarship Award Winners Gabriela Marquez Betz, CSU, and Yuri Regis Montanholi, University of Guelph. Betz and Montanholi were honored during an awards luncheon June 7.

Betz won the scholarship with her essay, "Using the Rate of Genetic Change and the Population Structure of Cattle to Better Target Genetic Progress." Montanholi won the scholarship with his essay, "Genetic

Improvement in Beef Cattle for Feed Efficiency: Increasing our Understanding of the Biological Basis."

June 6-9, 2007

Pt. Collins, Colorado

**Editor's Note:** This release provided by Colorado State University. For full biographical information on the award winners and descriptions of the awards, visit online at

www.newsinfo.colostate.edu and click on the header for this release. The biographical information can be downloaded in a Microsoft Word document.

